Fourth International Conference on Unconventional Computation (UC'05)

The Fourth International Conference on Unconventional Computation, UC'2K, organized under the auspices of the EATCS by the Centre for Discrete Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science and the Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence of the University of Seville will be held in Sevilla from 3 to 7 October, 2005.

Sevilla, one of the most beautiful cities in Spain, is at its best in October. An explosion of colour and contrast: flamenco, bullfighting, and a lively atmosphere in the streets due to the open and friendly nature of its people. The river Guadalquivir, the Cathedral and the Golden Tower are all places full of magic where the visitor can feel the spirit of a city which is eternally romantic.

The series of International Conferences Unconventional Computation (UC) is devoted to all aspects of unconventional computation, theory as well as experiments and applications. Typical, but not exclusive, topics are: natural computing including quantum, cellular, molecular, neural and evolutionary computing; chaos and dynamical systems based computing; and various proposals for computations that go beyond the Turing model.

The first venue of the Unconventional Computation Conference (formerly called Unconventional Models of Computation) was Auckland, New Zealand in 1998; subsequent sites of the conference were Brussels, Belgium in 2000 and Kobe, Japan in 2002.

The titles of volumes of the past UC conferences are the following:

  • C.S. Calude, J. Casti, M.J. Dinneen (eds.). Unconventional Models of Computation, Springer-Verlag, Singapore, 1998, viii + 426 pp. ISBN: 981-3083-69-7.
  • I. Antoniou, C.S. Calude, M.J. Dinneen (eds.). Unconventional Models of Computation, UMC'2K, Springer-Verlag, London, December 2000, xi + 301 pp. ISBN 1-85233-417-0.
  • C.S. Calude, M.J. Dinneen, F. Peper (eds.). Third International Conference, UMC 2002, Proceedings Lecture Notes in Computer Science, Vol. 2509, Springer-Verlag, Heidelberg, 2002, vii + 331 pp. ISBN: 3-540-44311-8.

The Steering Committee of the series of International Conferences Unconventional Computation includes T. Bäck (Leiden, The Netherlands), C.S. Calude (Auckland, NZ, co-chair), L.K. Grover (Murray Hill, NJ, USA), J. van Leeuwen (Utrecht, The Netherlands), S. Lloyd (Cambridge, MA, USA), Gh. Păun (Sevilla, Spain and Bucharest, Romania), T. Toffoli (Boston, MA, USA), C. Torras (Barcelona, Spain), G. Rozenberg (Leiden, The Netherlands and Boulder, Colorado, USA, co-chair), A. Salomaa (Turku, Finland).

The five invited speakers of the conference are:

  • T. Bäck (Leiden, The Netherlands): Solving hard problem by means of evolutionary principles
  • L. Grover (Murray Hill, USA): π/3 phase shifting in quantum searching
  • S. Istrail (Providence, USA): Logic functions of the genomic cis-regulatory code
  • N. Seeman (New York, USA): Not merely the secret of life
  • C. Torras (Barcelona, Spain): A survey of neurocomputing experiences in robotics

The UC'05 includes the following three tutorials:

  • S. Istrail (Providence, USA): Logic of networks
  • I. Petre (Turku, Finland) and G. Rozenberg (Leiden, The Netherland): Computing with living cells
  • Gh. Păun (Sevilla, Spain): Elementary aspects of membrane computing

The Programme Committee thanks the much appreciated work done by the paper reviewers for the conference. These experts are:

S. Basu
H.-G. Beyer
C.S. Calude
G. Csardi
M.J. Dinneen
P. Érdi
A. Ekert
M.P. Frank
D. Karig
T.D. Kieu
O.H. Ibarra
V.V. Ivanov
N. Jonoska
N. Krasnogor
J. van Leeuwen
N. Lucas
M. Margenstern
G. Mauri
K. Morita
M. Mozer
B. Ömer
Gh. Păun
M.J. Pérez-Jiménez
I. Petre
U. Speidel
M.A. Stay
K. Svozil
H. Umeo
H.T. Wareham
R. Weiss
T. Yokomori

The Programme Committee consisting of:

L. Accardi (Rome, Italy),
H.-G. Beyer (Dornbirn, Austria),
M. Burgin (Los Angeles, USA)
C.S. Calude (chair; Auckland, NZ),
M.J. Dinneen (secretary; Auckland, NZ),
P. Érdi (Kalamazoo, USA),
A. Ekert (Cambridge, UK),
M.P. Frank (Tallahassee, USA),
V.V. Ivanov (Dubna, Russia),
N. Jonoska (Tampa, USA),
N. Krasnogor (Nottingham, UK),
J. van Leeuwen (Utrecht, The Netherlands),
K. Morita (Hiroshima, Japan),
M. Mozer (Boulder, USA),
Gh. Păun (Sevilla, Spain),
I. Petre, (Turku, Finland),
H. Umeo (Osaka, Japan),
R. Weiss (Princeton, USA),
T. Yokomori (Tokyo, Japan),

We extend our thanks to all members of the Conference Committee, particularly to: M. Cavaliere, C. Graciani Díaz, M.A. Gutiérrez Naranjo, A. Nepomuceno Fernández, Gh. Păun, M.J. Pérez Jiménez (chair), F.J. Romero-Campero, A. Riscos Núñez, A. Romero Jiménez, F. Sancho Caparrini, D. Sburlan, U. Speidel (registration), for their invaluable organizational work.

We thank the University of Sevilla and the Centre for Discrete Mathematics of the University of Auckland for their technical support. The hospitality of our hosts, the Department of Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence of the University of Sevilla. The Conference is partially supported by the project TIN2004-23021-E of the Ministerio de Educación y Ciencia of Spain, by the II Plan Propio of the Sevilla University, and by the Acción Coordinada IMUS 2003 of the Junta de Andalucía.